Farina Station is a working station with tourist accommodation. Farina station currently has Merino station and Angus, and Hereford cattle.
Farina is originally a town and locality in the Australian State of South Australia. At the 2006 census, farina had a population of 55. It was initially known as the Gums or Government Gums. Farina was settled in 1878 by optimistic farmers. The Town was the railhead for a Time until 1884 before the railway was extended to Marree. Farina grew to reach a peak population of 600 in the late 1800s.
In its heydays, Farina had two hotels (the transcontinental and the exchange) an underground bakery, a bank, two breweries, a general store, an Anglican Church, five blacksmiths, a school, and a brothel. In 1909, a 1,143 kilograms iron meteorite was discovered North East of the town.
Farina station runs Merino and Dorper sheep as well as Hereford cattle crossed with Angas on all-natural native pastures. Stress-free stock handling methods are used and cattle are culled for the quietness of temperament.
Farina is situated between Leigh Creek and Marree and has been owned and managed by the Dawes family for nearly thirty years. It also includes the Farina campground, an attractive bush camping grounds with amenities, and the ruins of the historic Farina Township.
These are being restored and interpretative signs have been added to tell the Town’s story, making it a worthwhile stopover for holidaymakers. The people are down-to-earth and hospitable people willing to accommodate visitors into their rich world of experience